Batman, the Dark Knight Rises, a movie review.

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks, I’ve been watching a couple of movies the last couple of days. So you’ll be getting some more reviews from me. This one is about the Dark Knight Rises, a movie I was really looking forward to see, but hadn’t been able yet. I had to wait till it was out on DVD. And as always, spoilers.

MV5BMTk4ODQzNDY3Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODA0NTM4Nw@@__V1__SY317_

Synopsis according to IMDB:

Eight years on, a new terrorist leader, Bane, overwhelms Gotham’s finest, and the Dark Knight resurfaces to protect a city that has branded him an enemy.

Official trailer:

 

My thoughts:

I heard great things about this movie, friends raving about it, reviews online that were great and now I’ve finally seen it for myself. To be honest with you guys? I liked the movie, but didn’t love it. I think the second batman movie in this particular series is better than this one.

The%20Dark%20Knight%20Rises_28We start eight years after we left The Dark Knight. And Bruce Wayne is but a shell of the man he was, until he encounters the beautiful Selina, played by the talented Anne Hathaway, who also happens to be Catwoman. And of course we have our main villain, Bane, played by Tom Hardy. Gary Oldman as Commissioner Gordon is again cast for the role, as are Morgan Freeman as Fox and Michael Caine as Alfred. We also have a new cop in town, Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Blake. And Gotham City wouldn’t be Gotham if it wasn’t about to be destroyed.

There are a couple of things that crossed my mind. I saw the TV series of batman from the ‘60, as well as the movies from the ’90. And I really liked those movies. And I couldn’t help but compare those movies with the Dark Knight Rises. For example. Gotham City, if I think of Gotham City, it is the Gotham City from the ’90 movies, dark, The-Dark-Knight-Rises-Still-the-dark-knight-rises-31226807-1280-930323corrupt, a little unrealistic, while the newer version could be any major city in the US. Catwoman, a beautiful played role by Michelle Pfeiffer. Dark, twisted, crazy, sometimes funny, and my did she look hot in that outfit. While if I look at Anne Hathaway, I see a skinny girl in a spandex outfit who needs to eat more. She doesn’t sell the role to me.

Bane. I love him as a bad guy, crazy, partially artificial, big, bad, bald. But his voice is really distracting. It’s like Liam Neeson and Sean Connery had a love baby and this is what you end up with. And I don’t like the fact that the bad guy get’s to be more human. The twist at the end of the movie came as a total surprise to me, but making Bane more human, but giving him motive for his actions at the same time, diminishes him a bit.

theme-batman-the-dark-knight-rises-pour-windows-7-05-700x437

Fox and Alfred, love them both, can’t say anything wrong here. Great characters and awesome supporting roles. Same goes for Commissioner Gordon. A big surprise to me was Blake, I morality-and-sacrifice-the-dark-knight-rises-L-Grrt61Joseph-Gordon-Levitt-The-Dark-Knight-Risesknew who he was meant to be in the end of the movie (you all have seen it by now, don’t you) and I think he would make an awesome Robin, and I was surprised by his acting. I’ve seen Joseph in 3rd rock from the sun as that awkward funny guy, but this blew me away.

Oh another thing about this movie, does everyone know by now Bruce Wayne is Batman? What is it with keeping your secret identity as a super hero these days? Look at Tony Stark a.k.a. Ironman, Peter Parker a.k.a. Spiderman in the new movie the amazing Spiderman. I don’t like it.

But the story is good; the plot is amazing, as are the special effects (although the Bat looks a bit wibbly up in the sky). I loved the plot twist at the end and Batman pulling a Sherlock. The Bat bike, is it called that, looked awesome. But Liam Neeson getting a small cameo was unnecessary for me. But I overall liked the movie.Dark Knight Rises

So where do I get my copy:

Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Dark-Knight-Rises-Ultraviolet-Digital/dp/B004LWZWGA/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1357149627&sr=8-3&keywords=the+dark+knight+rises

Amazon.uk: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Dark-Knight-Rises-Copy/dp/B004Q9SZGC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357149663&sr=8-1

Bol.com: http://www.bol.com/nl/p/the-dark-knight-rises/1002004012412987/

Rating:

Even though there are a lot of elements I didn’t like about this movie, and I still love the Dark Knight better, as well as the movies from the ’90. This one gets 7.5 out of 10 from me.

imagesCAJ4VW0U

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

