Christmas, love it, hate it, or both?

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks. Today not a real geeky subject but I wanted to talk to you about Christmas, cause you know, it’s the season and all. How do you feel about Christmas? Is it a big thing in your family, is it just a tree, ornaments and presents or a family holiday. Maybe it has a deeper meaning for you because you celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, or you don’t celebrate Christmas at all.

My lovely purple Christmas Tree I have decorated for this year.

My lovely purple Christmas Tree I have decorated for this year.

For me, I’m not a Christian, so it’s all decoration and festivities for me. When I grew up I loved Christmas. I usually went with my dad to pick out a tree. Then, together with my mum we decorated the house. The decorations where a little old fashioned (from the ’80) and we had this little nativity peace. (My dad’s catholic.) And a little candleholder with a small sort of

This is me and my dad, must have been around 3 or 4 years old, so this is way back in the '80.

This is me and my dad, must have been around 3 or 4 years old, so this is way back in the ’80.

Christmas leprechaun next to it and his Christmas had always came loose cause the glue completely dried up. Also, we had this little silver looking small bird as an

The infamous nativity piece, which I still have.

The infamous nativity piece, which I still have.

ornament for the tree and it was my favorite. I was always excited when I got to hang that in the tree. Within my reaching distance so I could stroke its tail feathers. I loved the smell of the Christmas tree and the ornaments in it. And usually we invited my grandparents or friends of my parents over for a lovely dinner.

But then my parents split up when I was 10, and I don’t remember Christmas at that time. My mum had found a new relation and my dad was alone at that point. The only thing I remember was that my dad used to pick me up, the evening of the first day of Christmas or the second day of Christmas (we have 2 Christmas days in Holland). And I remember a particular night he picked me up. The weather was terrible and it was cold, and snowing and the roads where really dangerous. People where advised not to go on the road if not necessary. They couldn’t find enough people to keep the roads clear because of Christmas. But to get back to my dad we could go 2 different ways on the highway. We mostly did the same route every weekend. Luckily before we made the turn down, we heard on the radio that there was a terrible accident. There was a huge pile-up of cars and I can’t remember how many or how long the traffic jam was, but we could avoid it. Everyone was really careful that night on the road. But suddenly a car behind ours picked up speed and passed us by. I remember my dad swearing because the guy was really reckless. Another car passed us and the first one lost control over his car and the other car that passed us bumped into him. We nearly came into a car accident and I was shaking and crying at that point, because it could be us. Luckily it just seemed like damaged cars but still. We made it home in one piece, but it’s something I’ll always remember during Christmas.

Current Christmas decorations. A replica of city hall, a small Christmas tree and a poinsettia, I love those!

Current Christmas decorations. A replica of city hall, a small Christmas tree and a poinsettia, I love those!

Current Christmas decorations. Santa, a tree and a snowman.

Current Christmas decorations. Santa, a tree and a snowman.

Current Christmas decoration, mini  poinsettias and purple decorations

Current Christmas decoration, mini poinsettias and purple decorations

 

A couple of years later my dad got also in a relationship and instead of spending a Christmas with the two of us, it became the three of us. My dad’s new girlfriend had other ideas about Christmas decoration and she wanted no less than 3 trees in the house. The only thing I could save was that old nativity piece and 3 other small things, the rest was thrown away. Bye bye Christmas memories. A couple of years later I stopped going all together to my dad for Christmas. Because me and my mom would celebrate on the first day of Christmas and my dad and his wife want a Christmas day for their own and the second day was spent with her big and loud family. Which I always felt like an outcast in, because I was different. I was educated higher then they where, I lived in the big city, loved to read. They didn’t understand me and I didn’t understand them.

Saved Christmas decoration, made this in nursery school.

Saved Christmas decoration, made this in nursery school.

Saved Christmas decoration, snowman candleholder

Saved Christmas decoration, snowman candleholder

Saved Christmas decoration, knitted boot.

Saved Christmas decoration, knitted boot.

When I came to live on my own for the first time I lived in a really small room and only had room for a really small tree. But I still loved it and decorated it and placed the nativity piece next to it. Which looked a bit ridiculous next to such a small tree. It was just me and my mum for Christmas. I tried to invite my dad over, but he had obligations towards his wife so over the years it still was me and my mum, the occasional boyfriend of mine who joined in.Now I live in a nice family home (by myself) and I told my mum I wanted a big tree. Remembering those Christmas days when I grew up. The nativity piece looks a lot better under a big tree. And last year I bought two bird ornaments, which I put in my tree for the first time this year. They represent my grandparents (who sadly pasted away a couple of years ago) from my mum’s side of the family.

One of the two birds.

One of the two birds.

And I’m creating my own Christmas memories and traditions. With the big tree and lovely ornaments. I always get excited about the coca cola commercial when I see it for the first time on TV and some songs give me that special feeling I had as a child. I love to see the town center being all decorated and every year there is a big celebration about the lighting of the Christmas tree in the town square. I try to attend every year.

Lighted Christmas Tree in the town square by day

Lighted Christmas Tree in the town square by day

Lighted Christmas tree in the town square at night

Lighted Christmas tree in the town square at night

I have mixed feelings about Christmas. The happy memories of my youth and the not so happy memories of my teenage years. Because Christmas is in my opinion a family holiday and it hurts sometimes not being in contact with your family around that time especially.

But who knows. Maybe in a couple of years I have a family of my own and I can give that special Christmas feeling I had to my children. Hoping they will have something to look back at when they grow older. I would like that. So hopefully 2013 will be my year, finding myself a nice guy to settle with and thinking about kids, that would be nice.

Like I said. I love Christmas, even though it can be a bit sad sometimes, but then again, so is life.

Tell me your Christmas stories, if you’d like.

Love, your hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

4 thoughts on “Christmas, love it, hate it, or both?

  1. rtgrthetasigma says:

    Hi

    Great post.

    Must admit that Xmas has been one of those things where it has sneaked up on me a little this year.

    It’s one of those times of year, apart from my birthday where I get a little reflective about what’s happened during the year.

    Yeah, I turned 40 but I’ve also made a few new friends, yourself included who have brightened up my year.

    Have a great Xmas, sweetie. Hope you get what you want from 2013.

    X

  2. […] Christmas, love it, hate it, or both? (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Christmas, love it, hate it, or both? (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Christmas, love it, hate it, or both? (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

