Top 10 on Thursday!!! 10 Geeky series you should watch!

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks. It’s been a while since I did a top 10 on Thursday, but as you know it, life happens, and knitting a 12 feet long Doctor Who scarf, pictures will follow soon, almost done, just have to do the tassels and then I’m done, thank god! It took me a month. I started the 30th of October and I will finish adding the tassels tomorrow. But for now, I give you a top ten list of geeky shows you have to watch. Most are on TV right now or we have a hiatus and a new season will start soon. Oh and this review contains spoilers. So without further ado, my top 10:

Ok I cheated a little bit with number 10, a shared place for Arrow and Revolution:

10 Arrow:  This is a new show which started airing this year. And it’s a sort of modern day Robin Hood, meets Castaway and it also has John Barrowman in it. For me all the reasons to watch, although I don’t think the show is super awesome, it’s still nice to watch.

Revolution: What if the world has no more power? Then we get a crossover from a post apocalyptic world which reminds me a little of the Postman and Waterworld, meets Jericho. But wait; maybe we can restore the power but what if the bad guys get it. Ok, I loved Jericho far better than this one and the fact that Sherriff Swan from Twilight has a lead role in it is strange to watch. But still, a nice show which also started this year.

9 Teen Wolf: If you’re from the ’80 like me or even older, you must have watched teen wolf the movie, which is adapted into a series by MTV. Great cast, great music, cool werewolves, amazing story. How do you hide a pack of werewolves in a small American town? Add some hunters in the mix, a lot of hormones and teen angst and you have a great show. The first two seasons only had 12 episodes, but season 3 will have the double amount and I am looking forward to watching it next year.

8 Game of Thrones: Amazing books by George RR Martin, adapted in a series, where everybody dies, everybody has sex with everybody, amazing fighting scenes, blood, gore, strong female lead roles, nice men to watch, intrigues, gossip and backstabbing. Currently waiting for season 3 to start next year, so be sure to watch the previous seasons and my advice? Read the books first and then watch the series. It makes a lot more sense then.

7 The Vampire Diaries: Let me tell you, the books suck, but the series is awesome. Although I feel it could be a little less young adult and more adult, if you know what I mean, (I mean hot steamy scenes with Damon wearing no shirt, hint hint) one of the main reasons I watch. And be serious. Season 5 of True Blood sucked (pun intended) and season 4 of the Vampire Diaries is for me still a reason to keep watching.

6 Lost Girl: They promote this show with you got vampires and werewolves we have a succubus. Also a lot of fairytale creatures and a succubus looking to uncover her past, with a hot werewolf by her side and a quirky human girl. It’s funny, it’s sexy, it’s hot and season 3 starts in January 2013

5 Once Upon a Time: I discovered this jewel a couple of days ago and I watched season 1 so far. Fairytales are the new thing, next to all the vampires and werewolves and I love it. It gives  a nice little twist to the fairytales we know and some we don’t know as well. Also, fairytale creatures in modern day life, without them knowing it? It’s a great twist and what got me hooked. Currently airing in the US in its second season, and it starts on Dutch TV in a couple of days.

4 The Walking Dead: Zombies, Zombies, Zombies. What if we have a worldwide plague of Zombies and a few groups of survivors, fighting to the death to deal with it? Yep, addictive as hell. That and the zombies are really gruesome. Awesome special effects, we are in the middle of season 3, so if you haven’t start watching yet, you can catch up quite a lot. Although the seasons are short, they are worth it.

3 Supernatural: Hello, season gr8! Although some of the new episodes can be a drag. It’s supernatural, a show with two brothers fighting demons, hunting things and doing a lot of ganking. Ok they kill a lot of main characters which leave you sobbing on the couch, but the cast is amazing. Yes season 8 is also known as the Crowley show. Look at past blogs of mine, GO WATCH IT, ITS AWESOME!!!

2 Sherlock: I started watching this show a couple of weeks ago and I am hooked. But then again, it’s written by Steven Moffat so it has to be brilliant. I even did a review last week. So why should you watch it, because there are a dozen of different versions of the story of Sherlock Holmes. Well, this one sets in modern day London, it’s brilliantly cast, the dialogues are amazing and it makes awesome use of modern day techniques and I love it! You can pick up season 1 and 2. The only thing is we have to wait a while for season 3. It was supposed to air sometime around May next year, but rumor online it that it may well be postponed to 2014. Damn you Moffat!!!

1 Doctor Who: You should by now know I’m a huge Doctor Who fan, although I started watching a couple of months ago, I still wonder how I survived my life for that long without the Doctor. So why should you watch? Well, it’s the longest running series on the BBC and next year Doctor Who will celebrate its 50th birthday. It’s suppose to be a children’s series, but as an adult I immensely enjoy it/ It’s hard to explain, but Doctor Who is brilliant, exciting, funny, loving, maddening, scary, emotional, beautiful, amazing, magnificent, terrifying, frustrating and I could go on for hours like that. Just watch it! Currently in the new season, season 7 and we are in a midwinter stop. The new episode starts at Christmas and from the previews I’ve seen, I’ll never build a snowman ever again. Damn you Moffat!!!

 

I hope you liked my top 10 list, until next time.

 

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

 

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

