Are real books disappearing???

Hi my hot cute boy and girly geeks, I had some trouble finding geeky YouTube video’s yesterday, so I promise to make it up to you next Sunday. I wanted to talk to you about something else today. Are real books disappearing?

 

Nowadays almost everyone has either an e-reader, a tablet or a Smartphone with access to pdf files. I for one bought an e-reader last year. Don’t get me wrong. I love books. My house is filled with over 700 books by now and I can’t count the books I sold to secondhand shops over the years, which I still regret, but was necessary in order to have some living space.  I mean, I bought the house I’m currently living in based on the fact I could place two huge bookcases next together in the living room. Also, I love the smell of old books. I’m a real booknerd. I used to by my purses and carrier bags on the fact if it could fit my Lord of the Rings Trilogy in it. Otherwise it was too small. I never left my house without a book. And if I did I would panic. And when I almost was finished with a book, I brought a second one, just in case I had something to read.

But times change, I found out I had rheumatism and hauling that lord of the rings trilogy around isn’t particularly good for your back. A lot of people commented at my huge bags and how heavy they were. But I was appalled by the fact of buying an e-reader. You can’t put an e-reader on a shelve in a bookcase, it looks silly. It doesn’t smell like a book, you can’t turn the pages like a book. The pages don’t age with time.

But then again, it doesn’t weigh a lot like a book, if you finished one book; you have another book just with you without the extra weight, not just one book, but hundreds of them. And if you buy the right one, your battery life is excessive, I can use mine for more than a week and still doesn’t have to recharge it. Also, it makes reading in bed a lot easier. No heavy books leaning on my arms and scratch marks. And I still buy books, but only the ones I really love. I now have the luxury to buying the awesome books and don’t make mistakes about books sucking and pining away in my bookcase. Also I’m an eclectic reader, I read whatever book I’m in the mood for.

So yes, I’m a big fan of e-books and e-readers. The only thing I don’t agree with is that a lot of books nowadays only come out as e-books. Like I said, if I find a book awesome and great, I want it to have that special place in my bookcase alongside its friends.

And the second thing I mentioned. Audio books. When I was younger I rented an audio book in the library, I think it was a children’s book by Roald Dahl. I listened to it for 15 minutes before stopping. It was too slow. I read very fast and it would take me more time to listen to a book then actually reading it.

But then, I couple of weeks ago I went into surgery for my back. I had to stay for 4 days in the hospital and I knew a part of my recovery therapy would be a lot of walking. So I downloaded a couple of audio books, just to try it out. I downloaded the Torchwood audio books to be specific. And the cool thing about these books, they are all being read by the lead cast of Torchwood. So now I’m walking around town a couple of times a day, listening to Captain Jack Harkness, Gwen, Owen and Tosh, telling me about their adventures and it’s awesome. I can safely say it’s one of the reasons my recovery is going well. I hate walking, but the fact that I know I can listen to some more chapters on my mp-3 player is a big motivation.

And you know what? This year my birthday/Christmas list is made out of all the books by Torchwood, cause face it, they look way cooler in my bookcase then on my mp-3 player.

So in my case, books are never disappearing out of my life. I love books, I’m a bookworm, a book junkie, a book geek, but one that adapts to the new technologies and I love it!

Let me hear your thought on audio books and e-readers.

Love, your hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “Are real books disappearing???

  1. […] Are real books disappearing??? (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

