A trip down memory lane…

Hi hot cute girly and boy geeks of mine, this is a not so geeky post, more an insight in your hot cute girly geek post.

I am currently rewatching Sabrina teenage witch and it got me thinking. It’s one big trip down memory lane for me. For instance, they do a lot of guest appearances on the show and one of them were the backstreet boys.

And before you shoot me, this was a long time ago, I just started the Dutch version of high school and fell in love with them, their music and Nick, although later I changed my opinion to Howie D. That has all to do with the video clip of everybody, where he plays a vampire. I even went to 2 of their concerts!

But that’s not the only thing that got me thinking about my early on geekyness. My parents aren’t geeks, never have been and never will be. I remember wanting to watch Star Wars but my parents didn’t let me because they thought it was too scary!

One of my favorite movies growing up was the never ending story, I always loved to read and I make up stories in my head, so my fascination about fantasy started all on my own. I loved scary books a lot and I joined a club formed by the authors of children’s scary novels. I even met them a couple of times!

And when my parents divorced when I was 10 and me and my mum moved to another city and I got 3 stepbrothers, (I’m don’t have any siblings), the love for fantasy and sci-fi grew. I needed a place to escape. I got my own TV on my room and started to watch X-files.  Oh how I wanted to escape my own world and dream about there being aliens and monsters and vampires.

Around that time I also started to write my own scary stories, although they were more stories about children my age whose lives didn’t go well and they were whisked away into other worlds where vampires were real. I can’t count the numerous times I wanted to be taken away from my own crappy situation and some hot vampire fall in love with me and turn me into a vampire so we could live forever.

We had this little fantasy shop in the town where I live (too bad it’s closed for good now) and that shop became my second home. It was filled with fantasy books and statues of trolls and elves and the most beautiful jewelry. I even remember the owner, Martin. I could tell him anything. And I know this sounds creepy, an adult man listening to the ramblings of a 13 year old. But seriously, if it wasn’t for him I don’t know what would have happened.

So he introduced me to reading fantasy and I loved it. The world seemed to be a much bigger place all of a sudden. Also I met my best friend Lex in school and she was just as quirky as I was and she helped me in my love for fantasy and sci-fi. For which I am still grateful.

I started to watch star trek, charmed and Buffy the vampire slayer and always carry a book with me, stuff like that. I also kept on writing, as I matured, so did my stories. They became more realistic (as far as a vampire story can be realistic).

I always had the feeling I didn’t quit fit in with the crowd. Not in high school and not later on when I went to get my bachelors degree. I always felt as an oddball, and sometimes hated it. I wanted somewhere to belong.

And now? Now I’m 28, have my own house, filled with the same fantasy books I always kept, with lots of DVD’s from the stuff I used to and still watch. I have a job, a cat and I’m still the oddball. But you know what? I love it. And thinking about my life so far and all the crappy things I went through? I am grateful for it. Granted I wish I could have learned my life lessons in a much less crapier way, but it’s made me the person who I am today.

I met a lot of awesome and great people thanks to my blog, my love for sci-fi and fantasy is still growing every day, and I finally belong somewhere. I belong to my crazy, funny, sometimes scary, quirky self. And I have great people surrounding me who are as crazy and quirky and awesome all in their own way. I love myself for who I am and they love me for who I am. So what I don’t have a partner, or kids or a car. I believe there is some sweet guy out there for me who is just as crazy and quirky and geeky as I am, we haven’t just met yet.

So to all you young quirky, geeky, funny, crazy, scary, geeks. Relax, it all turns out just fine. Love yourself for who you are. And although it sometimes takes some time, you will meet people who love you for who you are. And if they don’t they are missing out on some great stuff.

Funny how sometimes a post starting with the backstreet boys can turn out to a life lesson, lol.

Love, your hot cute girly geek Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

6 thoughts on “A trip down memory lane…

  1. josie says:

    i loved reading this post , all the things i love 🙂 the shop looks like a shop where i live , i can’t remember what it’s called though , lol . i love the neverending story and bought the book not long ago for 1p ! the x files is still one of my fave things to watch , along with buffy , charmed , angel , star treck voyager , dr who , sarah jane adventures 🙂 x

    • thanks love, it was fun to write, how one small thing can get you to remember all the stuff you loved as a child and teenager and the stuff you still like. I also love dr who! and torchwood, haven’t got the time to watch sarah jane yet, it’s on my to do list. Too bad our fantasy shop had to close. Due to the fact that books became cheaper in bulk at other stores and people could buy stuff cheap at online stores. Like I said it was my second home for years and I hate the fact that these shops have to close. I was excited I could find a pic from it online!

  2. Loved it Mendy…. it’s so nice to see you back!!!! We missed you!!! You got me turned on to Supernatural but I have been a Buffy, Angel, and anything Star Trek fan forever! It’s always fun when I turn on the TV and there is an old episode. There is one show that I find fascinating that you probably haven’t heard of “PERCEPTION”…. I find that show fascinating and the supernatural aspect in the guys’ mind or the inspector’s mind. It’s kind of cool. Take care and I love seeing you “Back in the Saddle Again!!!!! Love, Emily

  3. […] reading here: A trip down memory lane… « Hot Cute Girly Geek Categories : Geeky […]

  4. […] A trip down memory lane… (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

