Teen Wolf season 1, or the reason why I watch it!

Hi hot cute girly geeks of mine. Like I told you in the previous post, I’ll try to do at least one post a week and for the rest I’m relaying on my fellow geeky guest bloggers.

But without further ado, Teen Wolf season 1, and as always, spoilers!!!!!

The last couple of months I heard about the show teen wolf and I made a mental note to watch it someday, but then a friend of mine, who I recently met, urged me to watch it. Although it was a MTV show it was supposed to be good.

I am a vamp girl. Although I like most supernatural creatures, vampires are my poison, so to speak. Even the stories that suck (pun totally intended) I love. If you have read any of my previous posts you’ll know this. And also I really don’t get the whole fighting primal urges 1 or 3 days a month. This depending on what lore you follow. And obvious, you have the whole vampire against werewolf thing going on.

So I was a little reluctant to change to werewolves for a bit. But once I settled down I was sold immediately. I know this is a teen show, but hell, the jokes are funny and the interaction between the actors is amazing and… Derek! Is amazing. Yep, the reason I watch teen wolf is this hunk of brooding man/wolf.

But we leave that subject for now. The MTV series of Teen Wolf is actually a remake of the 1985 movie of teen wolf. The star of the movie is Michael J Fox. I haven’t seen the movie, but I’m planning to. The MTV series begins with Stiles Stilinski and his friend Scott McCall searching in the woods of Beacon Hills for a half dead body. You see Stiles his dad is the sheriff of the town and Stiles has a habit of listening to the police scanner. Getting himself and his friend in a lot of trouble. Stiles his dad finds him in the woods while Scott is hiding and sends him home. This means Scott loses his ride home and has to walk through the woods in the dead of night. But then he hears a noise. And he is being attacked by something.

I try to lay off the spoilers as much as I can. But it is safe to say that Scott turns into a werewolf. He then has to deal with it and his friend Stiles tries best as he can to help him with it. You see Stiles loves to do research, it’s the one thing he’s good at. So he convinces his friend that he is indeed a werewolf and the both of them are trying to look for answers. They go back in the woods by day to search for Scott’s asthma inhaler and they find Derek.

Also there is a new girl in town, her name is Allison, and her family has a big secret to hide. We also get to meet Lydia and Jackson. Lydia is the queen bee of Beacon Hill’s high and Jackson is her not so nice boyfriend. Allison and Lydia are best friends immediately and Scott falls for Allison. But Scott has to learn how to control his Wolf fast. Because the next full moon is coming in the invited Allison to a party. And if he doesn’t know how to control his Wolf, things are not looking good.

Stiles thinks it’s all a big joke and he loves the fact that his best friend is a werewolf. He tried his best to help Scott. But that still decides to go to the party. Needless to say he is losing it and thank God for Derek saving the day. So now Derek decides to help out Scott because he is a werewolf to. But there is one other thing Derek didn’t turn Scott into a werewolf, so who did?

A turn out there is an alpha on the loose. But who is he? Also, we learned the secret of Allison’s family. They turn out to be hunters, werewolf hunters. And Allison doesn’t know. A new family member comes for a visit. She, being Kate, and Derek share a history. Kate is one sick puppy, who loves to hunt and torture her victims.

During the end of the season we learn who the alpha is. But this is a spoiler I won’t give you. You have to see for yourself. Derek, Scott, Stiles and Allison team up to hunt down the alpha. But Allison learns who her family really is, and she’s torn between her love for Scott and her family. Also Jackson is being nosy and he tries to discover what is wrong with Scott. And then there is Lydia, being Allison’s best friend, being kept out of the loop, about what’s going on.

So why do I love teen Wolf? Like I said before, I just love Derek. He just want to be left alone, all brooding and pouting, being a real sour Wolf. But he looks good half naked. And although the title says teen, it’s not really a teen show. Yes it’s about a bunch of kids in high school but if you look deeper you see that those kids aren’t perfect. On the surface they just look like your average teen, but they all have problems.

Jackson is adopted, Lydia’s parents are always gone, and she is a lot smarter than she looks but she hides it from the rest. Scott lives with his mom, his dad left them. Derek’s family all got killed, all but his uncle who is catatonic and half burnt. Then you have Allison and crazy family of hunters. And the last, Stiles. He’s got ADD, doesn’t have a brain to mouth filter, he always sees the best in people, does everything he can to help and save his friends, lives with his dad who is the sheriff, his mother passed away. And that is I think the real power of this show, you can really relate to the people. Nobody is perfect, everybody got problems, and the fact that there are werewolves is just a bonus, and hot men.

So if you haven’t seen this series yet, you should really do so. Next Monday is the season’s finale of season two. Season one and two both have 12 episodes and season three which will start next summer will have 24 episodes. So that if something to look forward to.

I hope you loved this review and I will leave it with that.

Lots of love your hot, cute, girly geek Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

5 thoughts on “Teen Wolf season 1, or the reason why I watch it!

  1. I’m going to have to check this out!!!! Thanks, Emily

    • You should! Even Anne Rice loves the show, and how can the mother of all vampires be wrong? Lol. I’m really addicted to Teen Wolf and the fanbase of the series is crazy, but I will get to that in my second Teen Wolf blog, after monday’s final episode.

  2. […] Teen Wolf season 1, or the reason why I watch it! […]

  3. […] here: Teen Wolf season 1, or the reason why I watch it! « Hot Cute Girly … Categories : Geeky […]

  4. […] Teen Wolf season 1, or the reason why I watch it! […]

Leave a Reply

