Review: The Amazing Spider-man 2

The Amazing Spider-Man

Greetings fellow hot, cute and girly geeks!

This is your favourite youtuber, Zandrina typing!
Yes, I havent blogged in two weeks and I’m sorry. I really am! But I’ve had two very strange weeks since the wedding I mentioned in my last post.
But, as a treat for you putting up with my hiatus I give you a movie review.

Since Theta so kindly gave you all the basic facts in his review I will just move on to the important stuff: Andrew Garfields Buns of Steel!!
Yes, you read that correctly. Batman is known to have the most outstanding nipples in the history of superheroes and Mr Garfield puts Spider-man’s butt right there along with them! Seriously! Towards the end of the movie he falls and hits the ground and there is a spotlight on him and the only thing I saw was his butt. Knowing that Garfield is one of the few that didn’t need padding to fill out the costume didn’t make those scenes easier. (Emma Stone is a lucky gal)

No, in all seriousness geeks, The Amazing Spider-man is just that – AMAZING! As pointed out by Theta Andrew Garfield gives a much better portrayal of the Spider-man than Tobey. The older movies tended to have a dark side that just shone through everything but this one has humor written all over it. I saw it with three of my girlfriends and we LOL’d so much at some parts. One part in particular where I think every girl in the room laughed at features Emma Stone telling her father that she has the cramps. You have to see it to understand how funny it is. And the girls will laugh, the boys won’t see the humor in that scene 😉

As pointed out by Theta already the Peter Parker in this movie is a bit of a geeky outsider and I don’t know if that made him more applicable and just all over more awesome. I have yet to read the Ultimate Spider-man that this movie is based off of and I am trying really hard to get my hands on it! The problem is that we don’t have commic book stores in Sweden. There is one store that sells them and they don’t have that big of a selection. Moreover Andrew just gives a more genuine portrayal that I believed in. The scenes where he actually discovers his powers are amazing: on the subway, in his bathroom, bedroom and skating. Truly believable and once again had me in stitches.

Emma Stone as Gwen Stacy. Oh my god. Emma Stone is, hands down, my favourite actress of ever. Her acting in “Easy A”, “Zombieland”, “The Rocker” and “Crazy, Stupid, Love” should be made legend. Just so you can fully grasp how amazing I think she is you should know that she rekindled my dreams of becoming an actress when I was going through some rough times back in my first year of University.
I have not read about Gwen Stacy and therefore didn’t  know what to expect walking into the theatre and I must say that I was positively surprised. I was so scared that she’d taken a role where she would be the “damsel in distress” like the role of Mary Jane. To find a ballsy girl with attitude and the independence that she portrays made me so happy. I don’t think I would’ve liked her role as much if she was more helpless.

The Lizard. EWWW! Seriously, such a disgusting thing! Truly terrifying, the CGI on that needs to be applauded!
When Rhys Ifans portrayed Dr Curt Connors I couldn’t really see him as the bad guy. He was so heartbreakingly genuine that even though I knew he was the Lizard I couldn’t see it happen. But the entire set-up for his transformation and power trip was very well done and he scared me so much towards the middle part!

Dennis Leary as Captain Stacy. With the fear of repetition I’m just going to say that he was fantastic and his lines where amazingly delivered… His fate almost made me cry, otherwise this is the first movie in a while that I DIDN’T cry to!

In short, The Amazing Spider-Man is, in my eyes, the best Spider-Man movie of them all. It has the humor, geekyness, ballsyness and action scenes that I need in a really good movie. I can’t stand it when movies are depressing throughout so this was a nice change from the previous movies.

And ladies – look at his buns of steel ❤

Keep rocking that geek!
xx Zandrina

7 thoughts on “Review: The Amazing Spider-man 2

  1. camgal says:

    Lol I can’t wait 😉

  2. rtgrthetasigma says:

    Fantastic review.

    I did get the cramps joke, more for the discomfort portrayed by Denis Leary.

    A brilliant film made by the collaboration from the talent in front of and behind the camera.

    Bring on the sequel.

    • zandrinamcgowan says:

      Yeah, that kinda gave the joke away for you guys, but the mood swing she had about the hot choco just went so perfectly along with the cramps that I couldn’t contain myself!

      Sequel, yes please!

  3. rtgrthetasigma says:

    Great review.

    I got the cramps joke, but it was made all the more funnier by Denis Leary’s reaction shot.

    Glad you enjoyed the film. It has all things for everyone… Great story for me and Andrew Garfield’s buns for you. 😉

    • zandrinamcgowan says:

      Yeah, the storyline was good but Andrew’s buns made the movie rise to the occasion! 😉

  4. […] Review: The Amazing Spider-man 2 (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

