Book vs Movie, Movie vs Book…you decide Hot Cute Girly Geeks!

Okay Hot Cute Girly Geeks and I have a debate going in my mind.  You have to help me because I am torn.

People always have had this classic debate between book verses movie version.  I on the other hand, have the opinion of there being two different mindsets at work:  one, being visual and the other being imaginary.

For instance, I read the Twilight books and enjoyed them, not getting enough of the saga with Bella and Edward.  However, when the movies came crashing into the theatres, even though entertaining, I was left with an emptiness.  Before I have people burning my picture in the streets… let me explain.  I envisioned the characters in a much different light, tone and demeanor.  It was like my mind built a mental image and the movie did not come near what that mental image was in my mind.  The Edward and Jacob fans can put away their clubs now.  I meant that in my mind I had an imaginary world set and almost different than how the movies were.  It’s weird how you picture something and then how different others interpret it?

Then the other scenario is true about the book Jaws.  I read the book but when the movie came out Jaws…oh my… I was floored by the haunting mental images and the acting by Dreyfus and Robert Shaw blew me away, especially.  I can’t tell you how scared I was to go into any body of water after that.  Too Funny!

Another book I read when I was a little girl was Dracula… now I had seen like the comic versions of Dracula but never the intense creature that I envisioned in the novel.  So when I first saw a serious version of Dracula with Frank Langella… I was mixed because oh my… HAWT!!!

Langella was the epitome of my imaginary Dracula SO GORGEOUS!!!!  LORD!!!!  I think he was the BEST Dracula I have ever seen on screen.  He screamed sexuality with every look and every whisper!!!  If you Hot Cute Girly Geeks have never seen that version… RENT IT, BUY IT, or whatever! Just to see Langella play Dracula is worth it!!!

However, I will have to be a party pooper and say the screen adaptation sucked!

When will there be a happy medium Hot Cute Girly Geeks?  I don’t know but I have yet to read a book and get the same result in my head when I saw the movie and vice versa.

For instance, I saw the movie Star Wars and then read the many novels afterward… What an unbelievable change… they were nothing a like to me.  I thought I was actually reading and watching two stories which had the same character names and backdrop but the emotions were different!

Well, I would be curious to hear your thoughts but no team this or that come and club me to death!  Take care my Hot Cute Girly Geeks!

About THE LIGHT-BEARER SERIES author, Emily Guido

Author of THE LIGHT-BEARER SERIES which is a Young Adult, Paranormal Romance. Can romance develop between a Heavenly Angel Light-Bearer and a Hellish Vampire Blood-Hunter? Emily Guido is a Paranormal Romance Author. She was inspired to start writing THE LIGHT-BEARER SERIES because one day she got an idea of two characters that needed to have their story told. Not ever dreaming a week later she would have over a 100,000 words written. When Emily writes, it is similar to you or I watching a movie. She pictures the characters in her head going through vivid descriptions of each scene. There are so many nuances going through her mind that she cannot type fast enough. The novels CHARMEINE, MACTUS, ACCENDO, SEDITIOUS, and RANSOM are the continuation of the wonderful adventures of the inhabitants of The Castle Charmeine! Emily is currently writing CONUNDRUM the Sixth Novel in THE LIGHT-BEARER SERIES. She is currently working at a fortune 500 company full time, and pursuing her Master of Business Administration.

3 thoughts on “Book vs Movie, Movie vs Book…you decide Hot Cute Girly Geeks!

  1. camgal says:

    Wow. This post captured my idea of books vs movies. I agree about the reader painting or imagining the already detailed descriptions in the book and then receiving something else in a movie. My example would be Anne Rice’s first novel, Interview with a Vampire. The book was absolutely breath taking in my point of view but when the movie came out, a lot of her fans were disappointed at the scenes that were left behind etc…the only good thing I saw in the movie were the actors :). This was a delightful and pleasant read. Thank you :)- Camgal

  2. […] Book vs Movie, Movie vs Book…you decide Hot Cute Girly Geeks! (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

