James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing (James Potter #1) by G. Norman Lippert, a book review.

Hi hot cute girly and boy geeks of mine. This time, another book up for reviewing, again with a different style than my other reviews. I would like to hear your thought about it, which one you like, this new style or like I’ve done them before. And beware of some… SPOILERS!!!

Goodreads description:

Based upon the characters and worlds of J. K. Rowling, this book tells the story of Harry Potter’s son James, and his first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

My own thoughts:

I read this book after a tip of one of my friends. The books are free to download so that’s a plus. I am a huge fan of the original Harry Potter books and I was hoping for Rowling to continue the story herself. What happens with everyone after the seven books? We only get a small glimpse in the future in Rowling’s last book. And it feels like an opening for more books. But as I understand she didn’t want to write any more Potter books. So Mr. Norman Lippert made some fanfiction. Thus now turned into the James Potter books.

I had really high hopes about this first book. The chatter on the internet was quite positive about it. So I began to read. The book picks up after James is being put on the Hogwarts express by Harry and Ginny. And he meets two guys on the train, first years just like him. Zane, muggleborn and American and Ralph, also Muggle born (or so it seems) and from the UK.

James struggles with his heritage being the son of Harry Potter, and now head Auror. And we also learn the school is a little different from when Harry attended. The different houses are still the same but they intermingle more. McGonagall is still head mistress. Hagrid still lives by the forbidden forest, but the school was being restored after the big fight with he-who-shall-not-be-named. So a lot of corridors and secret passages are gone.

Also we meet the American wizarding community.  And a lot of the family members of the main cast from the Harry Potter Books, Neville turned out to be a teacher now.

James, Zane and Ralph get in to some adventures, after the intruding of a muggle into Hogwarts and learning about a prophecy of the return of Merlin. Yes, Merlin!

Did I like the first book, yes, did I love it, absolutely not. The Harry Potter books have a certain style or finesse about them. Everything is new and you grow to love the main characters. And I feel that this doesn’t happen this time. Bringing in the Americans. Slytherins teaming up with Gryffindors. And Merlin in the mix. I will read the other books, but not over and over again like the Harry Potter books.

So in order for rating this book, I will give it 6.5 out of 10. It’s entertaining but not loving.

Love, your hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

3 thoughts on “James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing (James Potter #1) by G. Norman Lippert, a book review.

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I like the fan fic book cover,… whoever did it, did a good job at making it look professional.

  2. Thanks for the honest (and dare I say accurate) review, Mendy. As the author of the James Potter books, I hunger for good critique. I tend to look back on the first book affectionately, but with the awareness that it might be a bit clunky. I tend to think they improve with each book, including the fourth (which I am currently working on). I look forward to your further critiques.

    • Wow, I was in shock (that’s a good thing) to see your comment on my review about your book. It’s nice to hear from the author himself. Thank you for liking my review. I always try to stay honest and I finished reading your second novel and also posted a review about it. It was indeed improved, so I’m looking forward to read your other James Potter books.

Leave a Reply

