Alpe d’HuZes a race for cancer!!!

Hi hot cute girly (and boy) geeks of mine.

Because last time, I was in twitter jail, I’m reposting this blog. Because I still need sponsors!!!

I have a not so geeky subject, but it’s still totally awesome! Every year there is a big sponsor event organized to raise money for the Dutch cancer association. This is called the Alpe d’Huzes.

Alpe d’HuZes wants to raise funds to fight cancer by cycling up the Alpe d’Huez six times in one day. The name, Alpe d’Huzes, is a combination of the Dutch word for “six” and the name of the mountain.

And my dad is going to cycle it! He will try to cycle the full six times up and down the mountain Alpe d’Huez. This event will take place June 7th. The goal this year is to reach over 30.000.000 euros. That’s almost 24.000.000 British pounds, or 38.500.000 American dollars. And although my dad and I raised almost 4000 euros, every euro counts and the more the better.

The motto of the organization is never, ever quit! And is runned strictly by volunteers. Every euro, and I do mean every euro, goes to the Dutch cancer association. None of it will linger in the pockets of some big CEO.

So the question rises, why do I write this blog? Well, I’m still trying to raise more money. And it is even possible to sponsor from abroad. And how to do so? There are 2 options. You can contact me and I sent you an invoice with an IBAN number so you can pay this invoice and it will go directly to my dad’s fundraiser, or you can contact me and transfer the money in my account. Begin June I will transfer all the money at once at my dad’s fundraiser.

So even if you can spare a little bit of money, everything is welcome. And if you can’t spare any money? Keep my dad and all of the other cyclists and even runners in your prayers, to make it through the day so he can complete his magnificent tour.

And you know what’s also awesome? I will be in France also! This is an ones in a lifetime experience and I don’t want to miss it for the world. I am so proud of my dad that he is doing it.

If you want to check things out for yourselves. Here is the official page of the Alpe d’Huzes: http://www.opgevenisgeenoptie.nl/ it’s in Dutch, but there is a language button on the right corner to translate.

(picture of my dad, lol)

Also, my dad’s official sponsor page: http://deelnemers.opgevenisgeenoptie.nl/acties/harryhollander/harry-den-hollander/actie.aspx  and you can also follow him on twitter. Actually you’ll be following me on twitter, because my dad doesn’t understand it, but I’ll try to live tweet on the day itself, and if I have English speaking followers I will post in English and in Dutch. His twitter name: @Harry_alpd6

And if you are interested in sponsoring, email me at hotcutegirlygeek@gmail.com and I would appreciate it if you would spread this blog amongst your own followers.

That’s it for this blog guys.

Love, your hot cute girly geek.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

