Swallowing Darkness by Laurell K. Hamilton, a book review

Hi hot cute girly (and boy) geeks of mine. Here is my review of Swallowing Darkness, the 7th Merry Gentry book by Laurell K. Hamilton and it contains spoilers as always!

Swallowing Darkness picks of after we left Merry and her lovers. She is pregnant with twins and the fathers are 6 of her lovers!!! How can that be? Well it’s faerie, remember? Apparently this can happen. But this also means that Tarantis, high king of the Seelie court and her uncle isn’t the father of the children and yes he did rape her.

The Seelie court tries everything in their power to get Merry to be their Queen, but she doesn’t trust them. Well I wouldn’t either. If it’s too good to be true, it usually is!

Merry is recovering in the hospital after the rape of her uncle when her grandmother visits and then things go wrong, again. Her brownie grandmother, who raised her as being her real mother, is under a spell from her other granddaughter. This turns her into evil brownie mode and eventually has to be killed to protect everyone. Merry calls on the wild hunt to avenge her and kill her niece who is responsible for her grandmothers dead.

When they return to fearie with the wild hunt they are ambushed by other sidhe, who try to kill Mistral, one of her baby daddies. (I know, so many men, so very confusing.) Sholto and Merry eventually retreat in Sholto’s (baby daddy) kingdom, where they try to heal Mistral and in between also pick up Doyle, her Darkness (another baby daddy) who was dying in the hospital. Sholto and Merry are crowned king and queen of the Sluagh, so Sholto wants Merry to be monogamous, yeah right! She puts him in his place on that particular point!

Merry decides to go back to L.A. because she is tired of all the people plotting against her and her men, and trying to kill her. But because the Seelie court is waiting outside of the Sluagh home, she calls in a favor of the U.S. military to help her escape. And it almost works.

The Seelie retreat and let her go, but Cel is waiting for her and her men and tries to kill her. Needles to say they get in a big fight and eventually she kills Cel. Finally! Evil little twisted monster! And Merry and Doyle are crowned king and queen of the Unseelie court by the goddess. But they give it up to save the life of Frost and finally they return to L.A.

Did I like this book, yes I liked it, but in my opinion it’s not the best one of the series, because there is so much happening. I feel like it’s a rollercoaster throughout fearie.  We meet all the men, visit all the courts and it is in my opinion too much for the one book. The other books are more about the background information and this one feels like. Everything needs to be told in as less pages as possible. On the other hand, it explains, a lot. So it’s definitely a must read, but I will rate it no more than a 6.5 out of 10.

Till next time, my hot cute girly (and boy) geeks!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

4 thoughts on “Swallowing Darkness by Laurell K. Hamilton, a book review

  1. H. C. G. G.,
    Wow! This book looks interesting! I love reading your reviews! I will have to put it on my TBR list! It keeps growing!
    Thanks, Emily

  2. aww, thanks. I know the feeling, since I bought an e-reader my to read list is about 500! books long and growing every day, don’t know where to find the time to read them all!

  3. I know the feeling, I’m not actually a speedreader, but it’s above average, otherwise I couldn’t read as much as I did. And reading in English is getting better and better. I now read almost as fast as in Dutch

Leave a Reply

