The Mummy, a movie review ( Death is only the beginning)

Hi hot cute girly (and boy) geeks of mine. Here is my opinion on the Mummy. Although it is not a real sci-fi or fantasy movie I qualify it as geeky J.  Oh, and spoiler alert!

The story takes place in 1923 as a British librarian, Evy played by Rachel Weisz, who works in Egypt becomes obsessed with the the lost city of Hamunaptra after finding a map. The map is partially destroyed by her boss so she needs a personal guide, Rick O’Connel played by the lovely Brendan Fraser (who has Dutch roots), to lead the way. What they don’t know is that Hamunaptra is cursed. Here lies the mummy of High Priest Imhotep, played by Arnold Vosloo (you know, I had a boyfriend ones, who looked like him), and disturbing him is not a good idea. He waits for somebody to dig him up so he can bring back his sweetie Anck Su Namun, who was the mistress of Pharaoh Seti I.

A true love story, sigh. Naturally they, and a group of American archeologists/grave robbers, disturb Imhotep. In order to become powerful enough to perform his magic to get girlfriend back he has to kill everybody who raided his grave.

Evy and Rick feel compelled to stop the mummy and get help from the oh so hot Ardeth Bay from the Medjaj, played by Oded Fehr. I love men with long hair, dark eyes and that accent. Yummy!

Why I love this movie. I’ve always been a sucker for Egyptian mythology, how I sometimes wish I was Evy, smart, full of knowledge, working in Egypte and kissing Brendan Fraser. Next what I love is the fun. The movie is so full of jokes. Look at Beni who gets tossed and kicked around a lot and looses in the end. Brendan Fraser gets away with a lot of jokes. And the movie is full of action and great stunts. Although it’s not a scary mummy movie, it’s one of my favorites and the best one in the mummy trilogy.

And now the raiting, I give it a 7.5 out of 10. Hot men, funny, Egypte and mummy’s. What more can a girl want.

Go get a copy of this movie on dvd if you don’t already own on.

Love, your hot cute girly geek, for al things hot, cute, girly and geeky!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

