A review of geekdom???

Hi again, my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. As soon as I started to write my Muse somehow left, the bitch. So I have no inspiration whatsoever. And I need to write a review.

The thing is, I watched so many shows and read so many books, I don’t know where to start.

If I look at my Goodreads account, the list is just about endless. In the last couple of weeks I read and listened to:

  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen (BBC radio)
  • The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy 1 by Douglas Adams
  • The Graveyard book by Neil Gaiman – (audio, read by Neil Gaiman)
  • American Gods – by Neil Gaiman.
  • Doctor Who: Touched by an Angel – by Jonathan Morris.
  • Doctor Who: Tales of Trenzalore – by Justin Richards
  • The Ocean at the end of the Lane – by Neil Gaiman (audio, read by Neil Gaiman)
  • Howards End – by E.M. Forster (also watched the film)
  • Allegiant (divergent 3) – by Veronica Roth
  • Insurgent (divergent 2) – by Veronica Roth
  • Divergent 1 – by Veronica Roth
  • Just about all the Seven Waters books (6 of them) – by Juliet Marillier

And don’t get met started on my series. I think I’m still emotional damaged beyond repair about some season endings, series ending and not coming back to my screen, hiatuses, news about some hiatuses ending somewhat sooner than expected. Some still ongoing hiatuses. But also disappointed season endings and so on and so on.

Why the hell to I put myself trough stuff like that. Well, I’m a geek, I’m a fangirl. I invest on an emotional level towards fictional characters. I ship, I see ships sail, some ships burn, some ships change boats and so on. Even though I am 21 + taxes years old at the moment, I love how I can be, in my mind, still young and carefree. Although I say carefree, certain writers made sure I’m never carefree ever again.

And I want to address another point, thanks to my Monday night classes. (You know, English CPE). One of the assignments in our book consisted of listening to an audio fragment of The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. Which had me excited immediately. Seeing as the day before it was International Towel day. I then tried to explain this to my class and the teacher. But apparently he never heard of Douglas Adams nor the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. I didn’t even dare to ask him if he at least heard of Doctor Who, afraid of being disappointed, and losing faith in all things British.

The discussion continued into being a geek, geekdom, fandoms, explain your enthusiasm about something and I even tried to explain fan fiction after one of my fellow students mentioned the dreadful 50 shades of grey. (I tried explaining how it started as a Twilight fanfiction.)

And I got the question, well not really a question but more a snide remark about me venturing into cosplay. Well duh! Which got me a nasty laugh and the topic was closed.

So this post started out as a, I don’t know what to review and is now sort of turning into fandom feelings. Let’s open a discussion in the comment section.

Are you a geek, a fangirl or fanboy? Do you openly invest on an emotional level in your series, books or comics? Do you ship and if so, what to do you ship? Do you miss being carefree thanks to certain writers?

But do you also find yourself subject of being misunderstood, the need to try and explain being a geek or your fandoms. Getting ridiculed about your passions and hobbies, being remarked as the strange one or even a freak.

Why is it socially accepted to love sports, being into the environment, but not loving a TV show, film or a good book?

Let’s hear it fellow geeks!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

PS: image taken from Forever Geek, originally created by Steady Rain.

SteadyRain_GeekPrideDay_Infographic-576x7192

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

2 thoughts on “A review of geekdom???

  1. Astrid says:

    Hey Mendy, what a great subject.

    As for commandment VII: no worries missing conventions due to wedding anniversaries, if you marry a geek (or indeed a nerd). Even if s/he isn’t into the same geekdom that you are into, s/he will understand that this is important, and go with you if at all possible.

    I’m surprised you feel meligned and misunderstood in your geekness in the world of mundanes. I rather feel that geekness has become much more mainstream.

    Set the way-back-machine for the year 2000:
    No Harry Potter world-wide accepted fan craze.
    LOTR fandom allowable under little children and hairy men without the courage to talk to women.
    Cosplay – what’s that? Oh, those guys who put on pointy ears and call it a costume?
    Fanfiction is an accademically studied type of activity that some strange women indulge in and only sociologists pass notes to one another about them.
    Anime? Never heard of it. Why don’t you just watch Disney, if you think animation is ‘cool’.

    I started geekdom in the 1980s when I was a teenager, and actively went to conventions from the 1990s onward. If there were any! Very hard to come by.

    With mainstream recognition of DragonCon, ComicCon, and The Big Bang Theory (notice the America-centricity of it all?), at least the world is now aware that we fans and geeks are not only here, but much money can be made off us. Yay them!

    But with mundanes knowing about these subcultures that are a spin-off of the entertainment industry, a lot of misinformation (pointy ears, anyone?) and fun-poking is mandatory.

    We have come a long way in the past decade and more. Don’t discount it. We just started at a very very small minute little iddy biddy place somewhere, that no one has heard of, except us geeky girls. The progress is huge.

    As a Trek fan, there is nothing new about misunderstandings by the greater public about what is truly fannish behaviour, and what is MY fannish behaviour in particular.

    That’s a bridge too far at the moment. But if you keep writing your blog and PRing for us fan girly geeks, then you are showing the world what is important to you, possibly to us, and certainly enriching it (the world again) with positive energy.

    This can never be bad!

  2. Anita says:

    Haitusses are a pain but Yeah!! for summer series. Countdown to TW whoop.

Leave a Reply

