“A dream, a rant and a rave…” guest post by Emily Guido – Author

So Hot Cute Girly Geeks

First you have to know that on my blog I post snippets of my books, “Charmeine” and “Ransom” the First and Second Novels in “The Light-Bearer Series” (SHAMELESS PLUG)  I love putting my snippets out there, but I rarely get to express myself and once in a while you have to get just let go with a dream, a rant or a rave.

DREAM:  I would love to be a writer and work at a college in Campus Life/Student Activities as a coördinator.  I don’t have to run the department! I just want a job where I work one on one with the students.  Right now, I work with students but as a conveyor belt process at an Information Window.  I hate the fact I can’t sit down and talk to and help students in a more involved way.  You see, I’m in my 14th year of college… How?  Well, I screwed up when I was younger and didn’t graduate or even apply myself.  So, when I started working for a living, I learned

Me Graduating Kindergarten

rather quickly what a college education means… i.e. money, security and personal fulfillment, at least… in my case… not in everyone’s case but in my case.  So between working fulltime and life getting in the way… I am in my first year of MBA school.  I really hate that I’m 49 years old in a class full of twenty-something old students.  Nothing screams old like an overweight, 49-year-old woman sitting next to you straining to see the smartboard the teacher uses or say to the person next to me… “What did she say?” because your 49-year-old ears are not as sharp as they used to be.

A RANT – NONE SHALL PASS: I don’t understand, and maybe someone can explain it to me how people can take advantage of other people?  It’s a cosmic question I pose.  I have been privy to being taken advantage of and so have you!  It hurts and it makes me mad.  Then the next time a situation arises, I will be more guarded and closed.  Case in point, I asked someone to arrange a promotional piece for me and paid them in advance.  The promotion was 50% successful because they dropped the ball on me.  They didn’t follow through but because new in the business, I didn’t sign a contract with them and I had no leg to stand on, so to speak.  I paid for something in advance and didn’t see the result.  Or when I asked the girl at the checkout to please hold my spot while I run back and get the milk I forgot to pick up and the next person with a huge order has already started checking their groceries.

How about when you ask the waiter or waitress for caffeinated coffee and you are sure that the coffee she poured was decaf?  I know people say you can’t tell, but for some reason, I can.  Or when you order something, and it doesn’t come?   You call the company and say, “Hey where’s my stuff?”  Then you have this big tug of war with the company to get your stuff.  Now, all I’m saying is that because of these things and so much more, I’m a bit snippy sometimes and leery of anything having remotely to do with services.  If I make a contract with you verbal or otherwise… I will follow through, why is it so hard for everyone else to do the same?  I can be a NONE SHALL PASS courtesy of Monty Python and the “Holy Grail” person easily, but the rare time someone follows through and it renews your faith in humanity.

A RAVE: I love that I can sit and watch a long sunset at the beach, or I can watch a whole season of “Will and Grace” or “Vampire Diaries” or sit up for 48 hours up typing or stay up all night reading a favorite novel.  Lord knows that I love these things.  But I love sitting down and having a big glass of wine with myself and just go out on my porch and listen to the river below my apartment.

I live close to New York City, so I would never, ever swim, fish or even touch the water in the river, but it’s nice to hear the water rush against the rocks. I can tell you that people just don’t know how to just be.  Love that this woman knows how to just be and let time wash over me like it was a river rushing over the rocks.  Nothing pleases me more than just spending time doing mindless nothings for myself and no one else.  Why?  This makes me selfish, lazy, and trapped in a state of perpetual happiness… okay I’m all that and more!

Okay you Hot Cute Girly Geeks, I’m signing off until next time – enjoy a DREAM, RANT and a RAVE!

About "The Light-Bearer Series" Novelist, Emily Guido

Author of "The Light-Bearer Series" YA, Paranormal Romance Can romance develop between a Heavenly Angel Light-Bearer and a Hellish Vampire Blood-Hunter? Emily Guido is a new Paranormal Romance Author. She was inspired to start writing The Light-Bearer Series because one day she got an idea of two characters that needed to have their story told. Not ever dreaming a week later she would have over a 100,000 words written. When Emily writes, it is similar to you or I watching a movie. She pictures the characters in her head going through vivid descriptions of each scene. There are so many nuances going through her mind that she cannot type fast enough. The novels "Charmeine," “Mactus,” “Accendo,” “Seditious,” and “Ransom,” are the continuation of the wonderful adventures of the inhabitants of The Castle Charmeine! Emily is currently writing “Conundrum” the Sixth Novel in “The Light-Bearer Series” She is currently working at a fortune 500 company full time, and pursuing her Master of Business Administration.

2 thoughts on ““A dream, a rant and a rave…” guest post by Emily Guido – Author

  1. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

